[RSD21D2] The Radiophonic Workshop - Possum OST (2xLP, colour vinyl)


RSD2021 Item - DROP 2

2xLP, colour vinyl

Room 13 - RWS003LP

Original soundtrack to a new British horror film by the pioneering UK electronic research lab. Astonishingly considering their 50 year career scoring for radio and television, this is the first time The Radiophonic Workshop have ever scored a feature film for theatrical release or collaborated on a major score together. They’ve risen to the challenge admirably, concocting a soundtrack that mixes pastoral flute with dread synth tones and bowed percussion that connects this to England’s hidden reverse of Coil as much as the masters of Italian Giallo soundtracks. Housed in a beautiful gatefold sleeve designed by Julian House with sketchbook insert, the soundtrack includes all the cues from the feature film as well as 9 bonus tracks. The soundtrack features sound elements and drones from the Delia Derbyshire archives, the pioneering producer of the original Doctor Who signature tune. These sound elements, discovered in boxes of tapes in the late composer’s attic, have been restored and used in the foundations of the sound track and sound design.

1. Verse 1 and Main Titles
2. Arrival Home
3. Smoke Balloons
4. Buried
5. Verse 2, Possum Sting and Undercurrent
6. Going In?
7. A Demonstration
8. Legs 1 and Forest 1
9. Legs 2 and Rumble
10. Forest 2 and Bag Opening
11. Marshland 1 / Anxiety
12. Marshland 2 / Verse 3 and Nightmare 1 / Bedfellows
13. The Fox Story
14. The Fox Story (alternative)
15. The Barracks
16. Newspaper / Stairs
17. Storybook
18. Helpless
19. The Photograph and Fox Return
20. Back From the Dead / Verse 4
21. Nightmare 2
22. Someone at the Door
23. News Report
24. Searching
25. Cracking Up
26. Pursuit
27. Verse 5 / Breakdown
28. Behind the Door / Mummy and Daddy / Possum-Man
29. Devastation
30. Arrival Home and a Demonstration (Alternative)
31. The Fox Story (Alternative 2)
32. The Barracks (Alternative)
33. Storybook (Alternative)
34. Helpless (Alternative)
35. Pursuit (Alternative)
36. Mummy and Daddy (Alternative)
37. Devastation (Alternative)
38. Opening Titles (Early Mix)

Related Products