Neil Young - Young Shakespeare (LP)



WMG - 0093624889519 - 0093624889519


Just two months after the release of his seminal album After The Gold Rush, Neil Young played a solo show at The
Shakespeare Theater, Stratford, CT on January 22 1971. The show was filmed and recorded, and the concert shown on
German TV later in 1971.

In 2020, while Neil and his team were reviewing his Archive for future projects, Neil re-visited the 16mm film and audio
recording of this show that had been preserved in the Archive for almost 50 years. Piecing together the tapes and footage, Neil
realized that he had the full concert – the film of which is the earliest live footage of Neil performing that is known to exist.
Neil has written on NYA that this show is “superior to our beloved “Massey Hall”. A more calm performance, without the
celebratory atmosphere of Massey Hall, captured live on 16mm. “Young Shakespeare” is a very special event. To my fans, I
say this is the best ever.”

As an insight into Neil’s prolific song writing at the time, the concert features two songs from the recently released After The
Gold Rush but four songs from the classic Harvest album that was still over a year away from being released. The wonderful
set list also includes acoustic renditions of favorites such as “Ohio”, “Cowgirl In the Sand”, “Helpless”, “Down By The River” and
“Sugar Mountain”.

The ancient analog tapes have been lovingly restored – resulting in (as Neil says on NYA) “one of the most pure sounding
acoustic performances we have in the Archive”.

A1 Tell Me Why
A2 Old Man
A3 The Needle and the Damage Done
A4 Ohio
A5 Dance Dance Dance
A6 Cowgirl in the Sand
B1: A Man Needs A Maid/Heart of Gold medley
B2: Journey Through The Past
B3: Don’t Let It Bring You Down
B4: Helpless
B5: Down By The River
B6: Sugar Mountain

Related Products